The Queen of Procrastination

Facebook. Twitter. Pinterest. Now blogging.

It doesn’t take much to convince me that I don’t want to study or work. I have suddenly become the Queen of Procrastination. I didn’t used to be this way and used to think it was simply because I have too much on my plate and couldn’t quite figure out where to start so I don’t start at all.

However, we just finished reading The Shallows by Nicholas Carr for one of my classes. This book examines how the internet has rearranged our way of thinking. No longer do our brains work in a linear fashion, taking on a task until it’s completion, we now work in short bursts. Thanks to links, videos and clicky things, our attention spans have shrunk, making it nearly impossible to resist distractions.

I wasn’t sold on this theory at first but now that I am aware of it, I see how much I bounce around in even just a few short minutes of being online. Facebook isn’t simply scrolling through and reading status updates, it’s commenting, clicking on photos to read the full caption, going to an external website suggested by a friend, reading a news article, or watching a video.

Pinterest is the same. Scroll through the photos, click on a link, click on another link, forget what you were doing when you clicked on the first link…oh, yeah, looking for a recipe…that reminds me, I need to thaw the chicken.

Oh, yes, you know what I’m talking about.

Anyway, back to The Shallows (haha, just bounced again), I confess to not reading this book word for word. I am a master book scanner if it doesn’t involve sex, lust and hunky men (I just wanted to throw that out there for you.). But it was very interesting and I highly recommend it to anyone who may be into in that sort of self awarness thing.

Even if you aren’t, when you leave this page, be aware for the next few minutes how distracted you become by all the little short bursts of information provided and how hard it has become to concentrate on any length of text that doesn’t offer these tidbits.

See you soon,

Emilia

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

