New Contract…for my alter ego anyway

The best way to send out 2012 and ring in 2013? With a new contract. At least for one of me anyway. Marci Boudreaux, my sweet romance writing alter ego, just signed on with Secret Cravings Publishing to release The Messenger in May.

This poor book of mine has been through so much in its life.

The Messenger is the second full manuscript I wrote—about twelve years ago.  It was submitted to publishers, rejected like no book has ever been rejected before. Pulled out about six years ago, revamped, resubmitted, re-rejected, and re-shelved.

Finally, I pulled it out again after Unforgettable You was released and I had some editing experience under my belt. I reworked and rewrote and re-edited again. It was tentatively accepted by another publisher but with many, many, MANY suggestions. While I was doing that, I submitted another manuscript with the editor felt was too similar to this one but she liked the second submission more so The Messenger was again rejected.

Dismayed, I submitted to a newer publisher that I happened upon. I liked their attitude toward the authors (and their contract), so submitted and finally—after all it has been through—The Messenger is going to be published in May 2013.

What a journey these characters have had just getting this far, they haven’t even shared their story yet! I was beginning to doubt if they ever would, but am thrilled they are now starting down the path of editing (again), book art, and lots of promoting. I have to, after all this time, start thinking about the blurb and taglines, and the book trailer. This is where all the work starts, but I am so thrilled to be tackling this.

Though I don’t have a blurb yet, let me sum up the storyline: Evelyn Thomas, a green reporter, feel a bit entitled to being the star reporter since her father, is after all, the publisher. But instead, she is treated like a child playing grown up, especially by seasoned writer Wes Reilly, who is far more interested in her long legs than her investigative abilities.

 When she overhears her brother-in-law, Jerry, telling her sister that he suspects insurance fraud at the hospital where he is a surgeon, Eve becomes determined to write the story and prove herself as a serious reporter.  When Jerry is assaulted, Eve realizes she’s in over her head and has no choice but to ask Wes for help.

While Eve tries to prove herself, Wes does his best to keep her from getting herself in trouble. Sparks fly and danger lurks as they team up and they begin to realize there is more to the other than either had realized.

I hope, when it is finally released, you enjoy the story and the characters and appreciate all they went through to share their story with you!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

