Character Interview: Carrie Gable

Character interviews, in case you don’t know, are just that. Characters from books interviewed to get their insight on things. I always think these are a lot of fun to do and to read.

This particular character interview was done by Sloane Taylor. She interviewed Carrie Gable, the main character in my alter ego’s book, Unforgettable You.

unforgettableyou-200

Thank you for coming to chat with us today. Why do you think Marci Boudreaux choose you to represent her?

I guess I’m here because everything that’s happened is somehow directly related to me.  My mother-in-law, Doreen, has kept me on my toes for years, but the kicker was finding out that she’d blown through all the savings that her husband had set up for her, leaving us on the verge of having to sell her family home.

 

I had no choice but to give room and board to all these Hollywood hotshots while they are filming in town.  The last thing I wanted to do was cater to a bunch of snobs, but money talks and they offered enough money that it was screaming.

 

It hasn’t been all bad.  In fact, some of it has been pretty great.  I never would have met Will if I hadn’t agreed to this and he has definitely been worth the trouble.

 

Tell us a little about yourself?

Born and raised in Iowa.  I lost my mom when I was young. When I started working at the inn with Doreen, we really connected. She’s the reason I went to culinary school and became a chef. She’s also the reason I married her son Mike. If she hadn’t straightened him out as a teenager, I think I’d have given up on him long before we were engaged.

 

When Mike died, I leaned on Doreen to get me through. That’s just another reason why her Alzheimer’s has been so devastating. She’s constantly asking where he is and I always tell her the same story.  He’s at the store.  The poor guy’s been running errands for three years.

 

What do you wish people would know about you?

I didn’t throw myself at William Walker.  It just happened. I know most people don’t think we could possibly have anything in common—me being an inn keeper in Iowa and him being a huge movie star from California—but there’s more to him than that.  There’s more to me, too.

 

What is your perfect evening?

It would be sitting down and talking to Doreen and having a real conversation.  Not one where I tiptoe around the truth about Mike or try to hide that I’m falling hard for Will.  I’d like to talk to her about him and how he makes me feel.  Unfortunately, that’s never going to happen.

 

What do you do to relax?

It usually involves wine and a fire on the patio. I didn’t realize how predictable this was until Will came along and started pouring my wine and starting fires while I was putting Doreen to bed.  I’d come downstairs and he’d have everything ready so we could sip our drinks and talk.  I love staring into the blaze and listening to his stories.  It makes everything difficult fade away, at least for a while.

 

 

Tell us about Will Walker. What drew you to him?

Wow, that’s really personal.  I guess it was how lost he seemed. It was nice to see that I wasn’t the only one who felt like life was winning.  When he got here, I was at my wits end.  It’s hard trying to be the primary caregiver for someone who doesn’t realize she needs it.

 

He understood my dedication to Doreen and supported it.  He also trusted me enough to talk to me about what he was going through.  How his life was out of his control and he didn’t like where it was going.

So I guess what drew me to him was his understanding, his patience and his willingness to open up to me.

 

What really pushes your buttons?

Right now, Juliet Ramirez. Not only does she push my buttons, she stomps on them with every ounce her ninety pound, silicone inflated body can manage.

 

I’ve never met anyone more full of themselves than that woman. “This is wrong. That is wrong. Old people creep me out.”  On and on and on.  She never stops complaining.

 

Too bad for her, I’m not very impressed by her so-called glamour. I stopped tripping over myself to make her happy about five minutes after she arrived.  Of course, that doesn’t go over well with the location manager, but he can get over himself as well.

 

What’s your biggest turn on?

You really go for these personal questions.  My biggest turn on?  Patience. That’s all I can ask for right now.  Someone who is patient and calm and soothing.

 

What are your biggest turn off?

Any and all things Juliet Ramirez.

 

What’s your perfect day? Why?

My perfect day is a day when I don’t realize that Doreen has disappeared, when she doesn’t try to burn the house down, when I don’t fall down the stairs, and when Juliet Ramirez spends the entire day on set.  That seems to be a lot to ask lately, but that would be perfect.

 

Beyond that, I would love to have a day with Will. Just the two of us. One day where we can go out and not have to worry about anything else. I don’t even care what we are doing, as long as we aren’t worrying.

 

Do you believe in ghosts?

If there were ghosts, I would have had a lot more help with Doreen the last few years. I’d have called on Mike about ten times a day to keep up with whatever mischief his mother was getting into.  Unfortunately, I’m on my own with this one.

 

What is your biggest fear?

I think right now, I have two big fears.

 

I know at some point Doreen will become too much for me to handle.  My friends, and I think even Will, already feel that she’s too much, but she’s the closest thing to a mother I’ve ever had.  She would never give up on me, I can’t give up on her either.  So as long as I am able, I will keep her in her home and make her life as comfortable as possible.

 

On the other and, I am terrified of the day that Will returns to California. He swears it won’t happen, but I’m scared he’s going to go back to his life and wonder what the hell he was thinking getting involved with me and I’ll just be a memory.  If I even qualify for that.  I’m scared he’ll forget about me.

 

Why should the readers be interested in your story?

My story is filled with a lot of emotional ups and downs, anger, bitterness, loss, happiness, love and laughter.  The relationship I share with Doreen is unique. Even when her delusions get the better of her, and she can’t really understand what is happening, the bond between us is so strong it could never be broken.

 

And who could possibly resist getting to know Will Walker? He’s sweet and considerate. He’s patient not only with me, but with Doreen as well. He is very romantic and is constantly surprising me with his dedication to our relationship. Sure, he’s bound to screw up and make me want to never see him again, but he’s a guy and what guy doesn’t do that from time to time?

 

BLURB:

Desperate to keep her ailing mother-in-law Doreen in the family home, Carrie Gable agrees to board a few of Hollywood’s elite actors. Despite her resentment of their demands, she can’t stop her attraction to actor Will Walker.

 

Will, out to save his failing career, agrees to a project that bores him. The more time he spends with his egotistical co-stars, the more drawn he is to their hostess. Long nights talking with Carrie make him realize he wants a simpler life, but his ties to L.A. refuse to let him go.

 

The temptation to regain stardom pulls Will in one direction while the obligation to family tugs Carrie in another. Against all odds, the couple struggles for a solution to save their new found happiness.

 

Learn more about Marci Boudreaux on her website http://marciboudreaux.webs.com/. Stay connected on facebook https://www.facebook.com/authorMarciBoudreaux and Twitter https://twitter.com/#!/MarciBoudreaux.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

